Credit Monitoring: Best Companies of 2017


The ever-changing financial environment of today requires that you're on top of your resources and aware of your financial standing. Credit reports, credit scores, and credit monitoring are being talked about more and more, and it's for a good reason. Your entire financial profile is based off your credit reports and scores, so you need to know your scores and reports inside and out, which is why credit monitoring services have grown in popularity. While options are great, it's difficult to know which monitoring site is really the best for your needs and offers you the information you really need. That's why My Review was created. We want to provide users like you with honest, real reviews of the available sites out there. So here we are with the top 12 credit report and monitoring services available in 2017:

Best Credit Monitoring Companies

1. ClickFreeScore GO TO WEBSITE

4.9

Overall Rating
  • 3 Pricing Plans
  • Credit Fraud Consulting
  • Daily Monitoring
  • Scores & Reports from Experian, Equifax and TransUnion
  • Email Alerts
Click here for sign-up form, terms & details
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes Varies 9.8/10

2. FreeScore360 GO TO WEBSITE

4.8

Overall Rating
  • Extended Free Trial
  • Access to Dispute Center
  • $1 Million Identity Theft Insurance
  • Daily Monitoring
  • Learning Resources
Click here for sign-up form, terms & details
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $39.95 9.7/10

3. LifeLock GO TO WEBSITE

4.4

Overall Rating
  • Online Privacy Monitor
  • Lawyers & Experts Available to Members
  • Stolen Funds Reimbursement up to $1 Million
  • 3-Bureau Annual Credit Reports & Scores
  • SSN & Credit Alerts
Click here for sign-up form, terms & details
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes Varies 9.5/10

4. TransUnion GO TO WEBSITE

4.3

Overall Rating
  • Direct Access from Bureau
  • Personalized Debt Analysis
  • Unlimited Report Access
  • 3-Bureau Monitoring
  • TU Credit Lock
www.TransUnion.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $19.95 9.5/10

5. Experian GO TO WEBSITE

4.3

Overall Rating
  • Free Monthly Credit Report & Monitoring Available
  • 3 Bureau Report Access
  • Live Customer Support 7 Days Per Week
  • FICO credit score monitoring
  • Fraud Insurance
www.Experian.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $21.95 9.4/10

6. myFICO GO TO WEBSITE

3.8

Overall Rating
  • FICO Score Simulator
  • Intelligent Identity Theft Monitoring
  • Mobile App
  • Monthly or Yearly Subscription Rates
  • Quarterly Access to 28 FICO Credit Scores
www.myFICO.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $29.95 9.6/10

7. Fast3CreditScores GO TO WEBSITE

3.6

Overall Rating
  • In Business since 1992
  • 3 Bureau Monitoring
  • Identity Fraud Support Services
  • Affordable
  • Recently Extended Trial Period
www.Fast3CreditScores.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $19.99 8.9/10

8. TrueCredit GO TO WEBSITE

3.5

Overall Rating
  • Extensive Credit Education Resources
  • Personalized Debt Analysis
  • Direct Information from TransUnion
  • Up to $25,000 in Identity Theft Insurance
  • Monitoring from All 3 Bureaus
www.TrueCredit.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $19.95 8.9/10

9. FreeScoreOnline GO TO WEBSITE

3.3

Overall Rating
  • All 3 Credit Reports & Scores
  • Education Resources
  • Free Trial
  • Customizable Alerts
  • ScoreCast Credit Projections
www.FreeScoreOnline.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $29.95 8.6/10

10. FREEScoresAndMore GO TO WEBSITE

3.2

Overall Rating
  • Immediate Access to 3-Bureau Scores
  • Fraud Protection
  • 24/7 Monitoring
  • One of the Most Affordable Prices
  • Dispute Help
www.FREEScoresAndMore.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $18.99 8.4/10

11. FreeScoreClick GO TO WEBSITE

3.2

Overall Rating
  • Daily Monitoring
  • 3 Bureau Scores
  • Secure Delivery
  • Affordable Monthly Subscription
  • Over 1 Million Customers Served
www.FreeScoreClick.com
Number of Bureaus Reported Free Trial Monthly Cost Reputation Score
3 Yes $18.99 8.4/10

Review Summary

You know you need to be checking up on your credit score regularly, but how do you know which site will help you do that best? Below we've quickly ranked the top credit monitoring sites for easy comparison. All you have to do is click on the one that's best for you, then you'll be taken right to their site where you can quickly sign up and start improving your credit! These companies have been tested and reviewed by our experts, so you can be confident they'll give you the best service for an affordable price

Rank Kind of Service Rating Free Trial Expert Rating
#1 ClickFreeScore A+ Yes 9.8/10
#2 FreeScore360 A Yes 9.7/10
#3 LifeLock A- Yes 9.5/10
#4 TransUnion B+ Yes 9.5/10
#5 Experian B Yes 9.4/10

Expert Answers to Your Top 5 Credit Report & Score Questions

Guided by:
Kim Jones, Finance Editor

1. What is a Credit Report?

A credit report consists of four main things: personal information, inquiries, public records, and credit history. Your credit report is basically a detailed document that shows creditors your entire financial profile in one place. This report is used when determining your creditworthiness and will affect your ability to be approved for credit accounts like auto loans, home loans, credit cards, and more.


2. How is My Credit Score Calculated?

Credit scores are a numerical representation of your creditworthiness. Generally, credit scores are calculated using these five things:

  • 35%: Payment history
  • 30%: Amounts owed
  • 15%: Length of credit history
  • 10%: Types of credit
  • 10%: New credit

3. Why Do I Need to Check My Credit Score?

You absolutely must know your credit score if you want to be in control of your finances. Your credit score affects every part of your life from your ability to get a home loan to your ability to get a job. If you know your credit score, you are much more likely to have a good one! By tracking your score and report, you can make sure it's always accurate. If something inaccurate or old is reported, you'll be better prepared to tackle it right away.


4. Is Credit Monitoring Worth It?

This depends on where you are in life. If you're checking your score frequently and it's consistently stable and reporting correctly, you may not need credit monitoring. But, if you're struggling with your credit, working on repairing it, have a low score, don't know what's on your credit report, or want to take more control over your finances to get to a more stable place, credit monitoring is absolutely worth it. After you find a reputable credit monitoring site through our reviews above, you'll be able to constantly check your credit report, be alerted of any changes, and know your credit score at all times. When you're trying to rebuild, or build, your credit, you need to be aware of what's being reported about your financial profile. Credit monitoring is something you should be budgeting for and investing in. You don't need it forever, but when you're in any sort of transitional stage, it's absolutely worth it.


5. What is a FICO score? And What is Considered a Good or Bad Score?

A FICO score is the original credit score and is used by 90% of all creditors. Your FICO score will always be between 300 and 850. Below 640 is considered a very poor credit score. With this score, you are considered "subprime" and most likely will not be approved for new credit, or you'll get less than ideal interest rates on new credit accounts. 641 to 720 is considered a decent to good score, but 721 or above is considered excellent. Most consumers fall in the 621 to 720 range.


Bad Credit Stats

The average credit score of American consumers:

699


Bad

350-650

Fair

651-700

Good

701-750

Excellent

751-850

How-To Guides

How to Read a Credit Report

by Edna McClelland | 01/05/17

The 5 Ingredients of a Credit Score

by Edna McClelland | 01/05/17

Top 5 Things You Can do to Raise Your Credit Score

by Edna McClelland | 01/05/17

Testimonials See All

”I was doing research online about how to rebuild credit after my divorce when I came across MyReview. I was amazed at the detail of all their research. I ended up finding a great credit repair company, was approved for a secured credit card, and I'm now in the process of applying for a mortgage! I found all the companies I'm currently working with through MyReview and I couldn't be happier with my choices.” – Jim Messenger


”I knew nothing about credit until I went to buy a car and couldn't. I immediately started doing research online and came across MyReview in the process. Not only did their articles help me understand how to build good credit without going into debt, but their reviews helped me find a company that would offer me an auto loan despite my lack of credit history. Thanks for your help, MyReview!” – Vanessa Hickens


”I knew I needed the help of a credit repair company after I found out the state of my credit report, but the industry seemed so shady that I wasn't sure who to choose. MyReview helped me find one that offered what I was looking for at a price I could afford. I'm now working with a company I love and my credit score is up 14 points after just a few months!” – Aaron Marney

Contributing Experts

Connecting you with the products, services, and education resources you need to rebuild your credit and your life with confidence.